Feature Stories Campus Events All Stories

2019 LEAD Banquet Recognizes Leadership Across Campus The event celebrated many individual and student accomplishments.

LEAD-1-1-800x533 2019 LEAD Banquet Recognizes Leadership Across CampusAward winners at the 2019 LEAD Banquet

“Leadership opportunities are an essential part of the Washington and Lee experience and the commitment of our student leaders strengthens the W&L experience for all of our students.”

~ Associate Dean of Students and Dean of Sophomores Megan Hobbs

Washington and Lee University’s student leaders were recognized at the Office of Student Affairs’ annual Leadership Education and Development (LEAD) Banquet, which was held Sunday, March 31.

“Each year, the LEAD Banquet brings our community together to celebrate the meaningful work of our student leaders across campus,” said Megan Hobbs, associate dean of students and dean of sophomores.

“We gather to celebrate the efforts and impact of our dedicated campus leaders, to thank our students and advisors for their commitment to student engagement, personal development and continued mentorship. Leadership opportunities are an essential part of the Washington and Lee experience and the commitment of our student leaders strengthens the W&L experience for all of our students.”

This year’s Banquet Committee was led by Julia Moody ’20 and included committee members Allan Blenman ’19, Jenny Graham ’20, Annie Lentz ’20, Lexi Prochniak ’20 and Khang Truong ’20.

The LEAD Banquet awards and 2019 recipients are:

Nabors Service League McLoughlin Award for Volunteerism: Fon Teawdatwan ’19

Recognizing a student who demonstrates a commitment to their community through innovate service.

Best Service Event: MLK Day of Service

Recognizing the campus group or specific event that proved to be impactful by engaging and educating a significant number of volunteers and created a meaningful difference for the population served – whether locally or in another community.

Outstanding Philanthropic Effort: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Recognizing the student organization/chapter whose philanthropic efforts have made the most impact on our campus while supporting a local/national/global cause. The most funds raised per capita and the most innovative way of raising those funds is a factor in selection.

Outstanding Peer Counselors: Chris Watt ’21 and Rose Maxwell ’20

The Community Catalyst Award: Liv Cooper ’20, Genna Feirson ’20 and MK Moran ’19

Honoring students who show outstanding leadership to improve the lives of the LGBTQ communities on campus and in the surrounding local area.

Outstanding New Residential Adviser/Community Assistant: Donald LeCompte ’21

Outstanding Returning Residential Adviser/Community Assistant: Austin York ’20

Excellence in Artistic Event Management: Caroline Blackmon ’19 and Rose Maxwell ’20

Distinguished Summer Work: Zainab Abiza ’19

Recognizing a student’s summer work experience/research that best exemplifies Washington and Lee’s values of service, leadership and character.

Best Student Composition of the Year: Levi Lebsack ’21

Recognizing the most noteworthy, creative and inspiring publication created by a student.

Emerging Leader of the Year: Anton Livshin ’19

Recognizing a student who is passionate about leadership education and its practice. This student should bring innovative ideas to the table and exude a high level of commitment to empowering other student leaders.

Christopher Noland Student Activities Leadership Award: Thomas Agostini ’19

Recognizing a student whose leadership has been most impactful during the past academic year.

Outing Club Leadership Award: Mikey Barro ’19, Liz Todd ’19 and Tommy Willingham ’19

Greek Man of the Year: Bennett Newman ’19

Recognizing a Greek man making the greatest and most positive impact on the fraternity and sorority system during the past academic year.

Greek Woman of the Year: Ayo Ehindero ’21

Recognizing a Greek woman making the greatest and most positive impact on the fraternity and sorority system during the past academic year.

 The G. Holbrook Barber Scholarship Award: Joelle Simeu ’20 and Deepthi Thumuluri ’20

Honoring a rising senior (current junior) who manifests superior qualities of helpfulness and friendliness to fellow students, public spirit, scholarship and personal character.

The Decade Award: Lourdes Arana ’21

Recognizing a rising junior (current sophomore) who has shown involvement and leadership within the W&L academic and extracurricular communities and who has furthered discussions of women’s issues on campus and beyond.

The Edward Lee Pinney Prize: Lorena Hernandez Barcena ’19

Awarded by the Student Affairs Committee to an undergraduate student who demonstrates extraordinary commitment to personal scholarship and to the nurturing of intellectual life at Washington and Lee.

Larry Stuart Memorial Award: Jimmie Johnson ’20  

Recognizing students who exemplify Public Safety Senior Sergeant Larry Stuart’s character and commitment to the community.

The Third Generation Student Achievement Award: Allison Webb ’20 and Rexx Hallyburton ’20

Anece F. McCloud Excellence in Diversity Award:  Ayo Ehindero ’21

Best Event of the Year: Diwali

Recognizing the event that best impacted Washington and Lee during the current academic year.

Not Unmindful of a Sustainable Future Award: Jeremy Abcug ’19 and Dannick Kenon ’19

Recognizing students who lead sustainability efforts either for the W&L campus or for our global community.

Greenest Group Award: Compost Crew

Recognizing the student organization or student-led event that has made an impact toward sustainability-related efforts either on the W&L campus or in our global community.

Best Student Organization (Americus White Award): Washingtonian Society

Recognizing the student organization that has shown excellence in leadership, management and programmatic efforts. Allocation of funds is a factor in selection.

Adviser of the Year: Ellen Mayock

Recognizing a campus adviser who goes above and beyond in their efforts to support student initiatives, foster relationships and provide opportunities for new experiences.

The Frank J. Gilliam Award: Ayo Ehindero ’21

Recognizing a student who has made the greatest contribution to the Division of Student Affairs.

John W. Elrod General of the Year: Simon Marland ’20

Recognizing a student who has brought the most depth and breadth to the university during the past academic year.

The Alexander Thomas Boehling ’10 Memorial Award: Sutton Travis ’19, Thomas Agostini ’19 and MaKayla Lorick ’19

Honoring seniors for their campus leadership.

The Madison Montgomery Shinaberry ’16 Outstanding Student Leadership Award: J’ontae Smith ’20 and Kathryn McEvoy ’19

Recognizing two outstanding student leaders who demonstrate leadership and commitment to the Washington and Lee community as determined by the Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students.