Feature Stories Campus Events All Stories

Meet a Colleague: Jason Bunn Jason Bunn serves as manager of retiree benefits and employee benefits specialist.

Jason-Bunn-scaled-600x400 Meet a Colleague: Jason BunnJason Bunn, manager of retiree benefits and employee benefits specialist

Q. How long have you worked at W&L?
I started in November 2021, so about 2 1/2 years.

Q. What do you like most about working at W&L?
I love the sense of community on campus. In my role working with W&L employees, I have quickly gotten to know many faces on campus and around town. The opportunities to interact with employees and their families is a lot of fun!

Q. Where did you grow up?
I was born in Columbia, South Carolina while my mom was in seminary, but moved to the Shenandoah Valley when I was a baby. I grew up mostly (starting at age eight) in Augusta County, Virginia, in an old farmhouse between Brownsburg and Middlebrook.

Q. What advice do you have for students?
I know it’s cliché but enjoy every minute and take advantage of all the opportunities to engage with classmates and faculty! Four years go by fast, and you will make some of your fondest memories here!

Q. What is the most adventurous thing that you have ever done? 
After my college graduation, I spent two days white water rafting and camping in West Virginia. I was able to tag along with a group of rafting guides and we took on some adventures that are not normally afforded to novices like me. I also quit/didn’t show up for a summer job because a friend offered me a ticket to game seven of the Stanley Cup Finals in Raleigh, North Carolina. I couldn’t say “no” but knew the job would not be waiting for me when I returned.

Q. What’s your favorite thing to do when you’re not working?
Family first, but if it’s my own free time, I’m playing golf, basketball, softball, pickleball or watching sports. I also enjoy mowing my yard more than I should.

Q. If you could live anywhere, where would you build your dream home?
I would like the chance to explore the world a little before making this decision. I would think Australia or New Zealand would be ideal. If staying in the states, Hawaii looks amazing. I’m super happy right here in Lexington at the moment! And anywhere with easy access to a nice golf course would be just fine!

Q. Who most inspires you?
Looking back, I am amazed at how supportive and involved my parents were growing up. Currently, watching Karla (my wife who works at W&L in ITS) handle the everyday ins and outs of our crazy family schedule while working full time is quite inspiring.

Q. What book are you reading now?
I struggle to read as much as I would like. “The Anatomy of a Golf Course” by Tom Doak is on my nightstand in an effort to better understand golf course architecture. Most of my reading actually involves Disney Princesses, Pete the Cat, Taylor Swift, etc.

Q. What music are you listening to these days?
I tend to listen to a lot of local stations ranging from country to pop and oldies with a little NPR thrown in. The Rock Channel (97.9) has been my recent favorite, but I also use Spotify to listen to some of my favorites, as well as Kidz Bop and Taylor Swift (for the kids!)

Q. What is your favorite film of all time?
I’m not a huge movie guy, but the one movie I can watch over and over is “The Hangover.”  My wife and I saw it on our honeymoon and I have never seen a human laugh as much as she did!

Q. What is the website you visit most often and why? 
Wlu.okta.com and Workday for obvious reasons! I also visit the W&L Athletics page often, as well as ESPN and Google.

Q. If you could have coffee with one person, who would it be and why?
Can I choose both of my Grandpas? I didn’t get to spend enough time with them as a kid. My grandpa on my mom’s side was born in 1899! I would love to hear about life back when he grew up.

Q. What is your desert island food? 
Pizza – can’t get enough!

Q. What is your secret talent? 
I can juggle and play the drums (not at the same time). My kids are in awe!