Feature Stories Campus Events All Stories

W&L Inducts 31 into Omicron Delta Kappa at Jan. 17 Convocation

Washington and Lee University’s annual Founders’ Day/Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) Convocation was held on Thursday, Jan. 17 at 11:45 a.m. in Lee Chapel.

John Maguire, senior fellow of the Institute for Democratic Renewal and senior consultant of Project Change, gave the convocation’s keynote address, “Catching Up With Martin: The ‘Fierce Urgency’ of King’s Vision for Current and Future Leaders.” Maguire is a member of the W&L class of 1953.

Twenty undergraduates and eight law students, as well as three honorary initiates, were inducted into the prestigious ODK leadership society at the convocation.

  • View the full Convocation video with keynote address
  • View the ODK induction ceremony video

Both Maguire and his wife Lillian (Billie) Maguire are Woodrow Wilson Fellows who visited W&L to connect a liberal education with the world beyond the campus by having talks and discussions with students and faculty.

Billie Maguire has dedicated herself to the promotion of children’s issues and working with nonprofit organizations benefiting children and currently chairs the Claremont Youth Partnership. She has received awards as a result of her work advocating the well-being of children. She also advocates women’s issues, religion and the role of women in community organizing.

She is an advocate for children’s issues who brings her experience as a teacher and curriculum coordinator to nonprofit organizations benefiting children. Billie Maguire co-chaired the 25th National Conference of the Children’s Defense Fund in Los Angeles, founded the Pomona Valley Kid’s Care Fair, currently chairs the Claremont Youth Partnership, and sits as vice president of the Children’s Advocacy Center.

John Maguire spent 28 years as a college president beginning with the State University of New York College at Old Westbury, and later at Claremont University Consortium and Claremont Graduate University (CGU) in California. Since his retirement in 1998, Maguire has been a senior fellow in the Institute for Democratic Renewal in CGU’s School of Politics and Economics and a senior consultant to Project Change, where he engages in a range of racial and social justice activities and democratic community building projects.

He serves on the boards of Union Theological Seminary, the NAACP Legal Defense and Education Fund, the Tomás Rivera Policy Institute, the Eureka Communities, and the JL Foundation. He is senior consultant in poetry at California’s Idyllwild School of the Arts and senior advisor to the Claremont Museum of Art.

2008 honorary inductees into Omicron Delta Kappa are William F. Connelly Jr., John K. Boardman Professor of Politics at Washington and Lee University, Lexington, Va.; David “Zeke” Ellington, M.D., of Lexington, Va.; and Col. Thomas C. Greenwood, U.S.M.C., of Quantico, Va. Greenwood is a member of the W&L class of 1977.

Students inducted into ODK include:

Class of 2008: Elizabeth Alison Brandler of Camp Hill, Pa.; Jordan C. Campbell of Dallas, Texas; Nicole Conkling of Ossining, N.Y.; Lindsay Claire Erickson of Silver Spring, Md.; Christine Grace Giordano of Mercerville, N.J.; Philip Jameson Graber of Arlington, Texas; Robert Hayne Hollis of Dothan, Ala.; Michael Keenan of Chicago, Ill; James Arthur Madden II of Dallas, Texas; Andrew Edward McEnroe of Hockessin, Del.; Adelaide Ng of San Diego, Calif.; Anne Katherine Ritchey of Fairfax, Va.; Mark Christopher Snoddy of Atlanta, Ga.; Jennifer Lynne Sproul of Tully, N.Y.; and Andrew Richard Zengilowski of North Andover, Mass.

Class of 2009: Melissa Rose Caron of North Conway, N.H.; Richard Simon Cleary Jr. of Louisville, Ky.; Jennifer Vaughn Lysenko of Voorheesville, N.Y.; Wesley Ben O’Dell of Millwood, W.Va.; and Jessica Reynolds Shaw of Wimberley, Texas.

Law Class of 2008: Christopher John Brady of Millington, Tenn.; Benjamin DeKalb Byrd of Lexington, Va.; Ryan Benjamin Gardner of Vienna, Va.; Kimberly Lynn Herb of Lexington, Va.; David Layne Hillman of Raleigh, N.C.; Anna Ku of Charlottesville, Va.; and Rachel Anne Sederquest of Chester, N.H.

Law Class of 2009: Thomas Hayden McElroy of New Orleans, La.