Feature Stories Campus Events All Stories

Katterhagen Named ODAC Nominee for NCAA Woman of the Year

Recent Washington and Lee graduate Jillian Katterhagen (The Woodlands, Texas/The Woodlands) has been selected as the Old Dominion Athletic Conference’s 2015 representative for the NCAA Woman of the Year Award.

A four-year letterwinner and a captain in her senior season for the women’s track and field team, Katterhagen was one of 147 honorees selected from among a record 480 individuals nominated for the award, which honors senior female student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership.

Katterhagen earned degrees in politics and history, and she recently received the Marjorie Berkley Award as the ODAC’s top female scholar-athlete. The 2015 William McHenry Scholar-Athlete as the top female Scholar-athlete at W&L, Katterhagen was a six-time ODAC champion in the pole vault, racking up a total of 10 All-ODAC citations during her career.

Katterhagen also competed in the 60 meter hurdles, the 100 meter hurdles and the long jump, and she was a member of the 4×100 meter relay team. She holds the school record for the outdoor pole vault at 3.60 meters. Katterhagen is a member of Phi Beta Kappa and Omicron Delta Kappa, and she served as a University Peer Tutor. She will enter law school at Stanford this fall.

The honorees represent college athletes from 18 different sports spanning all three NCAA divisions. Of those recognized, 57 honorees competed in Division I, 39 competed in Division II and 51 competed in Division III.

The Woman of the Year selection committee will next select the Top 10 honorees in each division. These Top 30 honorees will be announced in early September. The Selection committee will then choose and announce the top nine finalists (three from each division) at the end of September. The NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics will vote from amongst those nine finalists to determine the 2015 Woman of the Year.