Feature Stories Campus Events All Stories

Phi Sigma Tau Philosophy Honor Society Will be Established at W&L

After carefully reviewing the history of Washington and Lee University, the achievement and training of its students in philosophy, and the training and accomplishments of its faculty, the Phi Sigma Tau, an international philosophy honor society for both undergraduate and graduate students, has authorized the establishment of a chapter of the society at Washington and Lee University, to be known as Virginia Mu. Ten members will be initiated on March 5, 2015.

The new members include five seniors of the Class of ’15, five juniors of the Class ’16 and three officers. Nathaniel Goldberg, associate professor of philosophy, will serve as the chapter advisor. James Mahon, professor and head of the Department of Philosophy, will represent the University in the chapter installation ceremony.

Phi Sigma Tau is the International Honor Society in Philosophy. Founded in 1930 and incorporated as a nonprofit corporation in 1955, the society now has a network of over 200 chapters throughout the United States and Canada, at both public and private institutions of higher learning. Though divergent in the activities of each chapter, their goals are the same — to make philosophy a living experience and to bring together students with a common interest and competence in philosophical studies.

The purpose of Phi Sigma Tau is to serve as a means of awarding distinction to students having high scholarship and personal interest in philosophy; to promote student interest in research and advanced study in this field; to provide opportunities for the publication of student research papers of merit; to encourage a professional spirit and friendship among those who have displayed marked ability in this field; and to popularize interest in philosophy among the general collegiate public.

The standards of Phi Sigma Tau are high, membership being conferred in strict compliance with the standards established by the Association of College Honor Societies. At W&L, undergraduate students are eligible for active membership if they are junior or senior philosophy majors and have an average grade of B+ in philosophy.

Newly inducted members are:

Austin Pierce ’15, president, from Yorktown, Virginia; Stephanie Foster ’16, vice president, from Columbia, Maryland; Will Brown ’16, secretary, from Little Rock, Arkansas.

Charter members:
Will Brown ’16 from Little Rock, Arkansas; Teddy Corcoran ’16 from Rochester, New York; Hayley Degnan ’16 from River Edge, New Jersey; Stephanie Foster ’16 from Columbia, Maryland; Regan Fuerst ’15 from Houston, Texas; Luke McCracken ’16 from Cumming, Georgia; Jack Murphy ’15 from Medina, Minnesota; Connor Perkins ’15 from Ballwin, Missouri; Austin Pierce ’15 from Yorktown, Virginia; and Jackie Yarbro ’15 from Suwanee, Georgia.