Feature Stories Campus Events All Stories

Winner of 2012 W&L Law Mock Trial Competition Announced

The 2012 Mock Trial Competition concluded in the Millhiser Moot Court Room with the final round on Friday, November 30.  Kristin Slawter won first place, and Joe Antel received runner-up.  Maggie Burrus and Jeff Wieand also competed in the final round.

The Honorable Thomas E. Johnston, U.S. District Judge for the Southern District of West Virginia, the Honorable J. Leyburn Mosby, Jr. ’62, ’65L, Judge for the 24th Judicial Circuit of Virginia, and the Honorable John A. Parkins, ’72L, Judge for the Delaware Superior Court, presided over the final round.

Professors Beth Belmont, J.D. King, and Jonathan Shapiro judged the semifinal round.  Assistant Commonwealth’s Attorney Christopher Billias, Commonwealth’s Attorneys Bucky Joyce and Christopher Russell, and Professors Dan Evans and Timothy MacDonnell presided over the quarterfinal round.  Mock Trial administrators, David Bean and Meg Nerino, judged the preliminary round.  Professor Beth Belmont led the Evidence Primer.

The Mock Trial Competition provides students the opportunity to plan litigation strategies, practice litigation techniques, prepare witnesses, and conduct a complete trial. Each competitor conducts one direct and one cross-examination and presents either an opening statement or closing argument. The competitors are also responsible for presenting oral motions before trial and making and responding to objections while witnesses testify.

The Moot Court Executive Board administers all competitions for the Moot Court Program, which includes the Robert J. Grey, Jr. Negotiations Competition, the John W. Davis Appellate Advocacy Competition, Representation in Mediation, Client Counseling, and Mock Trial. For more information about the Moot Court Board and upcoming competitions, please visit http://law.wlu.edu/mootcourt.